Sign up for Email Updates


For Email Marketing you can trust


2017 Dates

Skipper's Meeting - November 8th
Race Starts - November 9th
Awards Ceremony - November 11th


Recent Race News:

Photo courtesy of Robert Dunkley

August 7, 2017
Notice of Race...Free Bottle of Mount Gay
The Notice of Race is posted and the Online Entry is now open. Get moving, because if you complete your entry before September 15, you will get a free bottle of Mt. Gay Rum when you check in before the Skippers Meeting at Coral Reef Yacht Club on November 8, courtesy of SORC Race Management.

July 1, 2017
Now is the time for planning, for the 2017 Nassau Cup Ocean Race, the first race of the 2017-18 SORC Islands in the Stream Series. Start your Winter season out right, with some November SORC action in the warm waters of the Bahamas. The race starts off of South Beach, Miami, hosted by the Coral Reef Yacht Club, Storm Trysail Club, and Nassau Yacht Club, and managed by SORC, on Thursday, November 9, 2017. As always, there will be a Skippers Meeting at Coral Reef on Wednesday night, and post race fun including match racing and other festivities at the Nassau Yacht Club on Saturday, November 11. Remember, you can’t race all Winter if you don’t start in November.

Watch for more Nassau Cup Race info on this page. Find more SORC Islands in the Stream Series news on the main SORC page,, or on the SORC Sailing Facebook Page. Wirth M. Munroe Invitational Palm Beach Race info is available at The Ft. Lauderdale to Key West Race website is, and the Cuba Race site is


Since 1934, some of the best offshore sailors in the world have battled for the prestigious Miami to Nassau Cup, including Ted Turner, Dennis Conner, Dick Bertram, and Ted Hood, aboard legendary boats like Running TideWindward Passage, Tenacious, and Boomerang.  Half a generation after World War II forced a short intermission, the race became part of the fabled Southern Ocean Racing Conference in the 1980s until the series’ dissolution in the 1980s.  Building on the race’s welcome rebirth in 2003, the new SORC, a group of race-veteran race managers, announced its management of the Nassau Cup Race in 2010. 

Starting in South Florida, racers leave Great Isaacs Light to starboard and proceed past Great Stirrup Light, finally finishing at Nassau harbor. The current course record was set in the 2012 race by Ron O'Hanley on the yacht Privateer with an elapsed time of 13 hours, 31 minutes and 30 seconds.  Today’s modern boats just need the right conditions to claim this legendary prize, and racers of all types will enjoy the navigational and crew challenge of the race across the Gulf Stream. 

For a list of past winners of the Miami-Nassau Cup Race, click here

To be included on the mailing list for future Miami-Nassau Race information, please sign up for our e-mail updates in the left hand column of this web page.

Coral Reef Yacht Club

Lauderdale Yacht Club

Nassau Yacht Club

Storm Trysail Club


Nassau Cup Ocean Race 2017
All Rights Reserved
Website created
Barr Batzer